Skip to content
Stephanie Hrit spotlight hero
Team Member Spotlight |

Q+A with Stephanie Hrit, Architect (Dearborn)

Q+A with Stephanie Hrit, Architect (Dearborn)

How do you describe your job to people outside of the industry?

I will start off by saying I am an architect and almost always get asked what type of architecture I do. So, I follow up with explaining that I typically work on commercial projects, but the firm I work for has a variety of project types, which makes things interesting.

Why did you decide to become an architect?

My interest in buildings and design started at a young age when my parents would take my twin sister and me through homes under construction in our neighborhood. During high school, I took some CAD and design classes, which just confirmed that this was something I was interested in pursuing.

How would you describe life at Ghafari?

Life at Ghafari is always interesting. There is always something going on, a problem to solve, a creative activity to be involved in, and great people all around.

What is the most exciting thing that has happened during your time here?

On a project related note, it is always so exciting to be on the construction site seeing the project be built and walking through to see the final result. It is really cool to see everyone’s hard work come together as a finished product and space to enjoy.

On the company culture side, Ghafari has participated in CANstruction through AIA Detroit for a few years. This event is always a great way to give back to the community while being creative and building something. And we have fun!

What is a key idea or lesson you have learned while working at Ghafari?

There are multiple ways to communicate, which is more important now during the work-from-home era. Everyone approaches things in different ways, so you need to be able to adjust and communicate your idea in a variety of ways to achieve the end result.

How do you like to spend your free time?

I enjoy playing sports, board games, and spending time with my family and friends. During the warmer months, you can find me on the golf course or a baseball diamond. You may also occasionally find me in the kitchen trying out new recipes.