Skip to content
Jani Guarang Spotlight hero
Team Member Spotlight |

Q+A with Gaurang Jani, Mechanical Engineer (Vadodara)

Q+A with Gaurang Jani, Mechanical Engineer (Vadodara)

How do you describe your job to people outside of the industry?

I work with a team that designs mega projects with specialization in aviation and automotive facilities. My role as a mechanical engineer is to model and coordinate all the services. I also mentor young engineers and designers. I strive to develop innovative solutions and new systems to improve productivity. It gives me immense satisfaction when our designs are successfully implemented, and the systems become operational.

Why did you decide to become an engineer?

Since a young age, I was passionate about machines and design. Therefore, I decided to go into the mechanical engineering field.

How would you describe life at Ghafari?

Ghafari’s India office works like a family without any feeling of hierarchy. We all work as one team for the success of the project. If a project schedule is very aggressive, we accept it as a challenge and work together to meet the deadline. Even when working under pressure, I consider it an opportunity to learn new things.

What is the most exciting thing that has happened during your time here?

When I joined the company, my first project was the Advanced Military Maintenance, Repair + Overhaul Center (AMMROC) in Al Ain, UAE. This was a very complex and technically challenging project. From a coordination point of view, it was an ordeal to fit all the services in tight ceiling spaces. I was able to do it with the help of my colleagues, and all buildings are operational now. This gives me pride and satisfaction.

What is a key idea or lesson you have learned while working at Ghafari?

We have continuous on-the-job and classroom training conducted by subject matter experts and our management team. Good subject knowledge and teamwork are key for successful project delivery.

How do you like to spend your free time?

My family lives in another town due to my son’s education, and therefore I travel to my hometown on weekends to spend time with my family. I like to travel to different places with family and friends.